Learning How to Relax, Turkey Day in Seattle

25 11 2008

Luke meant to post this on Friday, but he forgot… Hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving! ~Lizzy

I am a go-go-go person. I like doing as much as possible. I am happy when I fall asleep instantly at the end of the day due to fatigue. At the same time I like things to be easy. I want to be relaxed while climbing, I want to flow over the rock and be captivated by the movement. I struggle to relax on weekends after sitting at a computer for 40 hours each week. I want nature, I want to push my limits and become a better climber.

Lizzy and I haven’t really taken a full week off since our sweet trip to Indian Creek back in March. Not to say that we haven’t had our share of three or four day weekends and adventures. Due to my job and Lizzy’s busy school schedule we are weekend warriors. Yet in the last 6 months we have visited new areas, made new friends and sent our hardest routes.

This weekend we will be up in Bishop with our friends Hartley, Jamie and Nicole from Santa Barbara. It is nice to get back to the simplicity of bouldering. We will then return to San Diego tuesday morning to fly to Seattle for Turkey Day. It will be nice to get back to Washington, breathe in the clean air and enjoy the green vistas. We won’t be climbing in the Northwest but it will be nice to read some books, see some family and rest up.

Happy Thanksgiving to All!

– Luke

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

