Explore Your City, Commute by Bike!

21 10 2008

When I moved to California I bought a Trek road bike and often ride to work. I am no cylcist, I dont have the endurance for 100 mile rides or steep climbs but I still put miles on my bike. I love getting out of work and having the cool breeze on my face as I fly past traffic.

Even though gas prices have dropped from the lofty $4.75 of July to near $3.25 it still makes a difference when you bike to work. Here are some fun facts I found online today:

5 reasons to bike your drive

  1. The average person loses 13 pounds their first year of commuting by bike.
  2. 40% of all car trips in the U.S. are made within 2 miles of home.
  3. 60% of the pollution created by autos happens in the first few minutes of operation, before pollution control devices can work effectively.
  4. Just 3 hours of biking per week can reduce your risk of heart disease and stroke by 50%.
  5. The U.S. could save 462 million gallons of gas a year by boosting bicycle trips just half a percentage point: from 1% to 1.5% of all trips.
From REI
Actions

Information

One response

22 10 2008
james

I’ve been biking to work for six years and wouldn’t have it any other way. I arrive to work refreshed and feeling great, and get a daily workout in not much more time than it would take to drive

Cheers and keep it up – james

Leave a Reply

