Philosophical Musings on Rock Climbing

9 11 2009

Prompted by a recent post by Jamie Emerson on Grades.  I thought it would be good to dig up a few older thoughtful posts on climbing mixed with some classic climbing quotes.

“The best climber in the world is the one who’s having the most fun.”

- Alex Lowe

Grades, Grade, Grades.

“As we unloaded packs at the parking lot, two young ladies approached us to ask if we were THE Yosemite climbers… They asked if it were true that Yosemite climbers chafe their hands on the granite to enable them to friction up vertical walls. We assured them that the preposterous myth was true.”

-Chuck Pratt – 1965

What is Trad?

‘I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.’

- Bene Gesserit “Litany Against Fear” from Dune by Frank Herbert

Hesitation and Commitment.

“Some of the world’s greatest feats were accomplished by people not smart enough to know they were impossible.”

- Doug Lawson

Training, Progress, Belief

Enjoy,

Luke

Actions

Information

One response

18 11 2009
Luke Bream

Hi Luke
I too am facinated by the concept of fear in climbing. It is with us all, yet sometimes our demons are quite whilst at other moments they shout so loundly that we can berely hold the rock. I came across a really cool old school climbing video and used it in a post about fear which I would really value your opinion on ? You can view it here

http://crazyjourneys.com/2009/11/rock-climbing-skills-video-psychology-for-overcoming-a-fear-of-falling/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

