Sweet Gear Review: La Sportiva TC Pro

6 11 2009

Tommy Caldwell is an inspiration, a bad ass and one of the most talented all around climbers in the world.  When I heard Sportiva was coming out with the TC Pro I wanted in. I’ve been a Miura junkie for a while but was curious about what the TC Pro had to offer. I dream of doing many long free routes and thought these shoes might offer an all day solution.

So far I’ve worn the TC Pros for more than twenty days which has racked up over 100 pitches of climbing. This ranges from the first day wearing the shoes at the gym, a pair of multi-pitch first ascents in the Tuttle Creek / Lone Pine Peak region  to climbing El Capitan. I’ve climbed from 5.6 slab to 5.12 face and all grades and styles in between. I’ve been climbing mainly on granite but the type of granite ranges from the the alpine rock of Mount Langley and Mount Conness, to Tahquitz, Joshua Tree  and Yosemite.

P8212109

Standing on nothing in Pine Creek Canyon

These shoes are marked as all around performers and I would have to agree. The first weekend climbing the TC Pro’s went to Pine Creek near Bishop for a bunch of fun sport climbs. I had taken them on a short crack climbing trip to San Diego’s Mt. Woodson but nothing serious. On their first lead climb, I was unfamiliar with such a stiff sole and didn’t know how to use them. Over the day, I found they could stand on very small edges which resulted in an onsight of Stone Cold Fusion, seen above. This was one of my hardest onsights of the last few months and the new shoes clearly did not hold me back.

Many of the sport routes on the Mustache Wall follow flaring cracks, un-protectable by trad gear, with sections of face climbing. In these flares the TC Pro’s worked really well since they are stiff horizontally and allowed me to get secure foot jams with zero foot pain.

One of the things that I also learned this first weekend was that the TC Pros do not break-in easily and after a pitch of climbing I was ready to take them off. On the other hand, the laces allow for a ton of adjustability so I could fit them a bit loosely on easier pitches for less pain. I was able to wear them for two consecutive pitches on the excellent three pitch MegaPlex, but was happy to take them off at the top.

P1040697

Doing an FA on Mount Langley

After Pine Creek I knew that I wanted to take the TC Pro’s crack climbing and the following weekend I got in thirteen full pitches of alpine climbing. On the first day on Mt. Langley I was able to wear the wear the shoes for a five pitch FA, only having to unlaced  them at the pitch three belay.  I was really happy with the lining of the shoes on this climb since my feet stayed quite warm in the TC Pro on the shady North facing route.  Also, the cracks were a bit sharp and the TC Pro’s did a great job of protecting my ankles.

The next day turned out to be an even longer adventure on the Keystone wall where we added a new finish variation to one of the existing lines. Climbing another new five pitches, I found a downside to the high top as small twigs, loose rock  and various other pieces of nature got wedged in my shoe. To be fair, the rock quality wasn’t ideal and I did climb through a few trees so this might be expected in a high top shoe. This day my feet were really starting to break into the shoes, though I still had pain in my little toes and occasionally my right big toe fell asleep.

IMG_1345

Trusting the smears on Spook Book at the Needles

The last three months these shoes  stayed on my feet for almost all my climbing adventures. They worked great in the granite cracks of the Needles and performed on the tricky footwork in Yosemite. As a final test I wore the TC Pro on our onsight attempt of the Freeblast. The shoes worked well standing on the small feet and jamming in many cracks. Our next day we went back for the redpoint and I swapped in my Miuras that I usually wear on multipitch routes.  While the Miuras provied me with added sensitivitiy, mainly due to the thinner sole, I missed the stiffness of the TC Pro. I felt less secure on small edges due to the softer platform of the Miuras. I think this test really drove home the advantage of the stiff shoe.


TC Pro Review - 040

TC Pro’s after climbing El Capitan

I held off publishing this review for a week so I could squeeze in one more test, El Capitan.  This past weekend I made my first multi day attempt on Freerider and brought along the TC Pro’s. The shoes are nicely broken in now, and while I still took them off at some belays, I was not in a rush to do so. These were the only climbing shoes I wore for our three and half days on the route. The shoes continue to perform wonderfully and they helped me have confidence to stand on numerous tiny foot holds including a redpoint of the 5.11+ slab just above Heart ledges that had seemed impossible on a previous attempt. After many pitches of climbing the shoes are in pretty good shape except for the rands on the side of the shoe. As you can see in the photo above both rands a third of the way up the inside of the shoe  have worn through quite a bit. This duribility issue  is the only real  gripe I have with these shoes.  Everyone’s feet are different so your milage may vary.  I have been using these shoes on a multitude of cracks and the wear may be caused by the way I jam my feet or an issue specific to my pair of shoes.

Overall I highly recommend these shoes. They perform amazingly well on granite and are a dream for single and multi-pitch crack climbing.

Smearing:

As I have stated, this shoe is fairly stiff and the rubber is a bit thick in the front. However, contrary to expectations, I think this shoe smears very well. The feel of small divots in the rock may be diminished by thick sole but the TC Pro really sticks to the rock. I was very impressed on Spook Book where I was constantly trusting my feet to featureless granite.  Proving its all around status, yet again, these shoes were instrumental on my first Yosemite 5.12 which featured powerful underclings with minimal feet. The TC Pro stuck to the wall and allowed for powerful opposition as I climbed the sweeping arch of Underclingon.

P1250971

Committed to a layback on Atlantis at the Needles, CA.

Edging:

An afternoon climbing at one of the San Diego local areas made me really understand how the TC Pro’s worked with edges.  So far I had not trusted them on thinner edges since I didn’t have a good feeling of the rock through the thick and  stiff sole. Lets split edges into three categories: a large edge, a small edge and a micro edge. With a large edge you have so much rubber on the feature that you don’t expect to feel it. Here the TC’s work great and stiffness is a plus. On a small edge I am used to being able to feel the edge and how my shoe is sitting on it.  Since the TC Pro’s are so stiff I struggle when I can’t feel where my foot is on an edge. On a micro edge you don’t expect to feel the edge and the stiffness is a plus. Thus the TC Pro excels for micro-edging and I have been impressed with how well it sticks to micro footholds. The micro-edge theory was further confirmed on Stairway to Heaven at Tahquitz where I had to apply all of my weight to some very small holds which great success.  On the opposite edge of the spectrum, I struggled to stand on a small edge on The Flakes since it felt smaller than it really was, due to the lack of sensitivity. Perhaps these are just my own mental distinctions but this is the best way I can explain my experience with the TC Pro.

IMG_2710

A bit of tricky footwork on Pratt’s Crack.

Crack and Offwidth Protection

The semi high top of the TC Pro’s does a great job of protecting your ankles. Prior to climbing Mt. Conness and Pratt’s Crack I had spent a day of offwidthing using the lower-topped Tradmaster. My ankles turned out quite beat up and I was very happy to have the high top protection when climbing the offwidth on the Harding Route. I also found the lengthwise stiffness on the TC Pro works really well for offwidths and squeeze chimneys. I felt very secure doing heel toe jams in 6″ – 10″ cracks and doing tricky foot stacking on Pratt’s Crack. These shoes really work well in cracks of all sizes!

Pros:

  • Stiff sole edge well on very small holds.
  • Horizontal stiffness and toe padding make this shoe a crack climbing all-star.
  • Lining is soft and warm (good for alpine routes).
  • High top provides excellent ankle protection.

Cons:

  • Long break in time.
  • The side rand has durability issues.
  • Thick sole reduces sensitivity.
  • Expensive.

Sizing:

I wear the TC Pro in a size 39.  I wear size 38.5 Miuras and Testarossas (tight)  and size 38 Katanas (tight) & Cobras.

In 5.10 shoes I wear 7.5 Mocasysms (comfy).

Cheers,

Luke

Full Disclosure: La Sportiva provided these shoes to DreamInVertical in exchange for this review. The opinions expressed above are my own and reflect my experience with these shoes.  Feel free to leave comments regarding your opinion of the TC Pro.

For more Sweet Gear reviews from Luke and Lizzy check out our Gear Reviews page.

Actions

Information

21 responses

6 11 2009
Nate

$170.00! Wow that’s expensive

8 04 2010
mike phalan

Aloha Luke,
I’m thinking of getting these shoes as well. I’m sized at 41, wear a 40 in the mythos, 39.5 in muira vs (tight). What advise could you give me.
Thanks, Mike
mikephalan@yahoo.com

15 04 2010
lstefurak

Mike,
I’d suggest getting them in 40. The best thing to do is to try on both 39.5 and 40. The TC Pro will stretch and become more comfortable over time. If you like your shoes to be comfortable right away, or wear socks, you could even try the 40.5. Be careful though since the fit could be a bit sloppy in the front after they break in…
– Luke

17 11 2009
slundby

Nice review.
Sweet gear that costs an arm & a leg, and develop 4 sweet holes in the rands.
I’m sticking to my more modestly priced shoes. Sorry Tommy.

19 11 2009
Marc

i’m enjoying mine quite a bit though I do agree that the cost is high. I’ll see how they factore and if I run into any pre-mature wear I’ll consider the warranty options.

15 03 2010
Basil

thanks for the review luke. i was wondering what your street shoe size is. you missed it in your section on sizing. i’m thinking about getting a pair and it would be helpful. do they stretch a lot? i failed to size my mocasysms and wasn’t expecting the huge amount of stretch.

17 03 2010
lstefurak

So they don’t stretch as much as the mocasysm but they do break in. As I said in the review they get a lot more comfortable over time but not a lot looser. I would fit them tight but with flat toes. This may be a bigger than normal Sportiva size but it seemed to work out in the long run.

17 03 2010
Brian

Just curious, what size street shoe do you wear? I’m trying to size these but nowhere in town sells Sportiva. Trying to get a consensus before I order them online.

Thanks!

17 03 2010
lstefurak

So my street shoe size is 8.5. I don’t really like to use street shoe size since I think there is a big different in how your feet fit climbing shoes vs street shoes. I have a pair of Sportiva Crosslite’s in 41.5 which seem to fit on the big side. This is 8.5+ according to Sportiva’s sizing chart. I also have a pair of Sportiva Wildcats in 41 ie 8.5 which are a bit snugger.

Do you know your shoe size in other Sportivas? I would suggest a full size up from tight Katanas and a half size up from kinda tight Miruas.

– Luke

2 04 2010
Nate Tack

Hey Luke, good review. Can you tell me what size street show you wear? I might buy a pair of the TC pros, I’m trying to get a feel for how much they stretch and what size I should get.

Thanks!

-Nate

5 04 2010
lstefurak

Nate,

See my response above. I’m about an 8.5. I wear Sanuks in size 8.

I would suggest a half size bigger in TC Pro compared to your normal Miura/Sportiva size.

Cheers,

Luke

19 04 2010
Patrick Pharo

Luke et al,
I wear a 43.5 in both the Testarossa and Muira, and got the TCs in the same size. I was worried for a second, but ultimately feel that after the break in, this was the right move. I’m content with tight shoes, and feel like performance outweighs potential discomfort.

20 04 2010
lstefurak

I’ve definitely thought about getting another pair for performance. Good to hear they work well when sized down. I wasn’t sure I could deal with the discomfort…

Thanks for the comment!

4 09 2010
troyan

hi!, great review, am go to buy this shoes but the only problem is that they only bring it in 42, 43 and i dont know what to do. My miuras are 42 and after an hour they kill the knuckle of my big toe, what do you suggest me? buying the tc’s in 42 or 43? they stretch a little bit?

9 09 2010
lstefurak

They will stretch a bit. If you can try them on in 42 and they are not too painful go for it. If you are want to wear them all day and 42 is too painful then maybe you can order a 42.5 online? http://www.sportiva.com/dealers/online.php

19 10 2010
News & Notes – 11/17/2009 | ClimbingNarc.com

[…] A nice review of the new La Sportiva TC Pro […]

8 06 2011
Aaron

Hey Luke,

I know that this question has been answered to death, but I’m wondering about fit on this shoe. I wear a tight 38 Muira VS and I’m debating between a 38.5 and 39 TC Pro. The 38.5 feels tight and more secure on small edges, but I’m worried that there’s going to be too much toe curl for cracks. The 39 is still tight with flatter toes (though it feels like my big toe is sitting a little more flat that I’d like, and I’ll end up with less stamina on small edges). I’m likely splitting hairs here, but your advice is appreciated.

Aaron

9 10 2011
Josh

Luke,
Great review. I am thinking of running out an getting a pair. What is your street shoe size? I am curious. I heard they stretch a little, since this is going to be my big wall all day comfy shoe I was thinking of going 1/2 size down from my street shoe.
Cheers,
Josh

9 10 2011
Josh

Also, I do have a pair of Testarosa. I sized them two full sizes smaller than my street shoe. The stretched a half a size. I wear them for multipitching (pretty painful I by the end of the second pitch). How do TC pros stretch in comparison? When I tried the TC Pros 1 size down, they were a tad uncomfortable (which I dont mind as long as they will stretch to comfort over time)

Thanks!

15 11 2011
lstefurak

I Have TC Pro’s in both 38.5 and 39. I wear Testerossas in 38.5. The TC Pro’s do streach a bunch. The 39’s are like all day shoes and I tend to take off the other pair more frequently.

15 11 2011
lstefurak

I wear either 8 or 8.5 in street shoes. I think you could go a full size down and still be ok. The only reason to go a half size down is if you want to wear socks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

